Sblogo499.gif (4312 bytes)
2113 Dr Phil Murray Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research, North Wyke
Home
Outputs
Data
About
> Objectives
> Background
> Projects
> Management
> Committees
> Procedures/docs
Facilities
Links
Search

Please note: This research Programme is no longer active


 

Title of Research Project
Biodiversity of invertebrate root feeders and their impact on soil microbial communities

Abstract
The effect of defoliation on the uptake, efflux, translocation and partitioning of nutrients in plants has been studied widely. Recent work has demonstrated that below ground herbivory can result in changes in patterns of root exudation which may impact on soil microbial diversity and functioning. The potential impact of root feeding by invertebrates on microbial driven nutrient cycling has not been evaluated. An initial survey of soil from the Sourhope site has revealed the presence of some macro root herbivores, including tipulid, bidionid and Scarabaeid larvae, The proposed programme of work aims to test the hypotheses that the diversity of root feeders is influenced by management, that root feeders increase the flow of C from plants and interact with mycorrhizae to impact on soil microbial diversity and activity.

Researchers

PI

Dr Phil Murray

IGER
North Wyke,
OKEHAMPTON
Devon EX20 1NU
Tel: 01837 82558  x128

phil.murray@bbsrc.ac.uk

PI

Dr Sue Grayston

The Macaulay Institute
Craigiebuckler,
ABERDEEN AB15 8QH
Tel: 01224 318611 

s.grayston@macaulay.ac.uk

PI

Dr Alan Gange

Division of Biology,
School of Biological Sciences,
Royal Holloway,
University of London,
Egham,
Surrey  TW20 0EX
Tel: 01784 443188

a.gange@rhbnc.ac.uk

Tech Carly Kenny IGER, North Wyke
(as above)
c.kenny@bbsrc.ac.uk
Collaborator Dr Lorna Dawson The Macaulay Institute l.dawson@macaulay.ac.uk

PDRA

Dr   Amy Treonis

The Macaulay Institute
Tel: 01224 318611  x 2224

a.treonis@macaulay.ac.uk

Tech

Jasmin Ross

The Macaulay Institute

j.ross@macaulay.ac.uk

Tech

Brian Ord

The Macaulay Institute

b.ord@macaulay.ac.uk

Tech Eileen Reid The Macaulay Institute e.reid@macaulay.ac.uk
Tech Shona Pratt The Macaulay Institute s.pratt@macaulay.ac.uk
Tech Ruth Macdougall The Macaulay Institute r.macdougall@macaulay.ac.uk

STUDENT

Amanda Currie Royal Holloway College
(as above)
a.currie@rhbnc.ac.uk
Tech Sarah Case Royal Holloway College s.case@rhbnc.ac.uk
Collaborator Dr Roger Cook IGER, Aberystwyth roger.cook@bbsrc.ac.uk
Tech Tony Mizen IGER, Aberystwyth tony.mizen@bbsrc.ac.uk
Tech Karen Lowe IGER, Aberystwyth karen.lowe@bbsrc.ac.uk

Field work at Sourhope,1999

Links
Further Information about this research can be found on the project website.  

 

Back to TOP