Sblogo499.gif (4312 bytes)
2129 Dr David W Hopkins University of Stirling
Home
Outputs
Data
About
> Objectives
> Background
> Projects
> Management
> Committees
> Procedures/docs
Facilities
Links
Search

Please note: This research Programme is no longer active


 

Title of Research Project
Earthworm diversity and the integration of physical, biochemical and microbiological functions.

Research workers:

PI

Professor D W Hopkins Department of Environmental Science
University of Stirling
Stirling
FK9 4LA

Tel: 01786 467844

d.w.hopkins@stir.ac.uk

PI

Professor D A Davidson Department of Environmental Science
University of Stirling
Stirling
FK9 4LA

Tel: 01786 467844

d.a.davidson@stir.ac.uk

PI

Dr I C Grieve Department of Environmental Science
University of Stirling
Stirling
FK9 4LA

Tel: 01786 467846

i.c.grieve@stir.ac.uk
PI Dr C H Robinson Division of Life Sciences
University of London
Campden Hill Road
London W8 7AH

Tel: 0171 333 4352

clare.robinson@kcl.ac.uk
PI Dr J A Harris Department of Environmental Science & Mathematics
University of East London
Romford Road
London E15 4LZ

Tel: 0181 590 7000

harris@uel.ac.uk
PI Dr J A Chudek Department of Chemistry
University of Dundee
Dundee
DD1 4HN

Tel: 01382 344334

j.a.chudek@dundee.ac.uk
Student Mr Christian A Spring University of Stirling
c.a.spring@stir.ac.uk
Student Miss Hannah Bishop University of Stirling
h.o.bishop@stir.ac.uk
Student Mr M Pawlett University of London
m.pawlett@uel.ac.uk

Abstract


We aim to characterise earthworm communities in improved and unimproved upland soils, and determine effects of manipulating their diversity on soil properties. Soils will be described by soil survey methods and determinations of aggreagate stability and saturated hydraulic conductivity, plus micromorphology and image analysis to quantify void space, excremental pedofeatures and structure. Organic transformations in soil and casts will be characterised with 13C NMR. In laboratory experiments, 13C will be used to facilitate measurement of decomposition. Microbial communities in materials above will be characterised by phospholipid (PLFA) profiling and ergosterol (composition), ATP and dehydrogenase (biomass and activity), and substrate induced respiration profiles (metabolic diversity).

Back to TOP